Voice Acting for LifeLine Audio

A few months ago on CCC (Casting Call Club), I found a Christian casting call that needed two adults; a dad and a narrator. They also posted the story and script.

The script was about a dad and his two kids out fishing on a boat on a lake. The two kids start fighting until at one point the older brother accidentally knocks the younger brother's fishing pole in the water and the pole sinks. After that they pray to get it back, and then they try fishing out the fishing pole with another pole. It doesn't work and so they go home. The younger boy wants to pray again and so they do. The next morning they try again and get it back. That was the short summary.

I messaged the director of the casting call and asked why they didn't have roles open for the two kid characters. He responded back saying that they were holding live auditions in person at their own studio, but if I wanted I could send him an audition for one of the boys. So I chose some lines from the script and recorded them, then sent it back. Since this was during the summer, they said they were doing a lot of Christian summer camps and wouldn't be able to respond right away. About two weeks later the director responded back and said they thought my voice was perfect for David, (the older brother) and cast me! I was really excited about that news, especially since this was also gonna be a paid role.

It was still summer, so they were still helping out at churches and things like that. A month or two later he asked if I could do a live call with him so we could go over the script. Once we were on the call, the man was very kind and polite and introduced himself. He had just last year been put in charge of LifeLine Audio along with one or two other people. What I got really excited about is that he was very familiar with Adventures in Odyssey, a big Christian audio drama company hosted by Focus on The Family. He also worked a little with Lamplighter Theatre, another Christian audio drama company.

We went over the script and he gave me some pointers and personal notes on the script. The next day I recorded all my lines and am now waiting for my next step.