Re-doing a Minecraft Animation With my Own Sound Effects

A Youtube channel I've been subscribed to and watching for a while now, Black Plasma Studios, makes awesome Minecraft animations. I found them probably 3 years ago, and have been watching their videos since. The channel is owned by a team of around 5-10 animators, who use the software Blender to make the animations, whether it be posing the characters, adding good lighting, or modeling scene objects. 

I've always thought it'd be cool to do sound design for the channel and the animations they make. They made a Minecraft music video a few months ago using a song by a famous song artist, TheFatRat. They rarely do music videos, which means they don't use sound effects besides the song throughout the whole video. Although most of their other videos have sounds with them, the animators themselves do the sound design, which I imagine can really take up a lot of their time when they need to animate.

With this animated video they made, I will be removing the whole song, and then adding my own sounds to match up to the characters footsteps, grunts, arm movements, any bird chirps, general ambience, etc. I will be using Premiere Pro and Audition for all of the editing, and getting sound effects from either my personal library, or Artlist.io.

I recently subscribed to Artlist, and it's been nothing but handy and helpful. For the monthly subscription, I can download as many sound effects as I like. You can even upgrade and use sound tracks for any project. Since all of their sounds are completely royalty free, and I can use their sounds on anything I work on without getting copy right striked, it works perfect. 


Here's a sneak peak of what I have done already: 


I'm currently just laying down the foley sounds first (foley are the sounds created by the characters/humans, like foot steps, clothes moving, pants swishing, etc.). I put some ambience first, but usually I like to do the small details first, as unorganized as that tends to be. I should really have a better systematic strategy for this haha


I'll try to keep you updated on the progress of this project. I hope to some how send this to the animators, and maybe they'd consider me helping them with the sound design for the videos.