Helping a Family Make a Home Studio (Part 2)

I decided to write another blog post about helping the family make their home studio. When going over the things to get, the mom of the family said that she had been to a recording studio to record her singing voice. I know that her singing is excellent since I've heard her voice a few times. 

She said that when they finished recording, they added a lot of effects that made her voice "sound like a robot." I knew what she was talking about. 

Many people add TONS of effects to their voice to make it sound better. There's nothing wrong with effects, but you can get carried away with them. 

I think it's ok to use a small bit of it to give it that cherry on top. But if you overdo it, you'll sound like, well, a robot! 

I used to add a lot of compression effects to my voice to make it pop, but I soon learned it sounded fake. It didn't make me feel like I was listening to a real human being. Now, I don't add any effects to my voice, unless it's a commercial type gig (I can explain why, but it would take too long). Of course, excluding the little bit of noise reduction and dynamics processing!